California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
6/23/09, 10:35 am

Legal Question


Signing as an Attorney In Fact

I am a notary public. Recently a client came to me with a power of attorney for her parents. Her attorney told her that she should only sign her parents names on the document without her own name stating that she was the attorney in fact. I told her that every time I've notarized someone with POA they would write --name removed--Doe by Jane Doe as the attorney in fact.''

Is it ever legal for someone acting as the attorney in fact not to indicate that with both their signature and the identifying words?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search