California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/13/13, 10:12 pm

Me and my sister own a home together if I passed away would home go to my kids or to her if I don't have it written in my will?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/13/13, 10:22 pm by Thomas Reid

The answer to this questions depends on how you hold title with your sister. Do you own the home as joint tenants or tenants in common? You will need to look at how title was taken to begin answering the question.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Happe Reid, PC 9722 Fair Oaks Blvd, Ste D Fair Oaks, CA 95628

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/14/13, 12:54 pm by Bruce Givner

If you own the property as joint tenants with right of survivorship, then your sister gets your half. If you own the property as joint tenants, your children get your half.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Givner & Kaye, A Professional Corporation 12100 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 445 Los Angeles, CA 90025-7124

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/15/13, 10:28 am by Anthony Roach

I disagree with Mr. Givner. If the property is held in joint tenancy, the surviving title holder gets the entire property, without need for probate. Thus if the property was held in joint tenancy, and you died, your sister would own the entire property, and would only need to record an affidavit of joint tenant to clear title to the property after your death.

If the property was held in tenancy in common, which could result if the joint tenancy was severed, then your share would pass to your heirs, which is determined at your death.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search