California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/01/09, 9:35 pm

Legal Question


I am the sole beneficiary of my deceased uncle's trust, and he left a will naming me his sole heir and executor of the estate. (He had no children). HOWEVER, I believe my cousin - his niece - who was always there for him and who has financial issues of her own ought to get a third of the estate - about $60,000. My tax guy suggested I simply do this through a series of $13,000 gifts paid from the trust account. This strikes me as cumbersome. Others suggest that I pay the whole $60,000 from the trust account. While my cousin was not named in the will, I have no doubt that this gift would be consistent with his desires. What say you? Thanks.


question bubble
10/05/09, 12:25 pm

Legal Answer


If you make the $60,000 gift now, it means you have $47,000 less of the lifetime gift tax credit to use. It may not be an issue for you, as the credit is $1,000,000, but if you have significant assets, it could mean your own beneficiaries could pay more in tax, and you're back to making the yearly $13,000 gifts.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search