California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/27/03, 3:40 pm

Legal Question


First step in appointing personal rep for intestate decedent

Please advise 1st step my son needs to take to dispose of his father's estate. His father died intestate, our son is his only surviving relative (we have been divorced for 20 years). The estate consists of personal property, an annuity account, savings account, checking account, a boat and a car. No real estate. We do not want to hire a probate attorney but how do we go about getting his son appointed as personal representative to administer his father's estate which has a value of approximately $170,000.

Thank you for your assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search