California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/02/09, 2:55 pm

Legal Question


Is a trustee/executor of a living trust required to send a beneficiary a copy of said trust if requested? It's been a year and myself along with some beneficiaries have recieved nothing but excuses, (I lost an insurance check, I need to file taxes, etc.), a few others who complained were paid off months ago. Is this standard procedure? Thanks, Mike


question bubble
10/02/09, 3:04 pm

Legal Answer


It's not, and if it's been more than 60 days since your written request, you can compel a copy in court. The trustee is also required to send a notice to you under Probate Code section 16061.7 allowing you to request a copy--it also starts the statute of limitations period running for trust contests.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/03/09, 6:58 pm

Legal Answer


Complain loud a clear with a real threat of sanctions. Contact me directly.

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search