California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My uncle, and Godfather passed away last week. Apparently, there seems to be no will, which is odd because I thought he had prepared one years ago - no one in our family has any knowledge of where it would be if it does exist. He was never married, and had no children, and never owned his own home. He expressed to me verbally (which I know isn't valid in CA) that I was to get all of his assets in the even of his death - material and monetary. However, I recently learned that he expressed his wishes to have his assets split 50/50 between my brother and myself, with my brother getting his vehicle as well. He expressed this verbally to 2 "disinterested" witnesses - his roommate, and my aunt (his sister). My family is talking about going through probate, but I know for a fact he has no outstanding debts, and paid his vehicle off years ago. Must we deal with probate? And how do I find out who he listed as beneficiaries on his bank accounts when there's no will?
Legal Answers
Top Areas of Law


