California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My wife recieved a Holographic Will naming her the sole beneficiary by the decedent who have no living relative. Amount of inheritance is approximately $12 to $15,000. The estate was originally in the hands of a Nursing Home facilities where the Decedent died. My wife followed the requirement of California Probate Code Section 13100-13116 but the Nursing Home refused to transfer the said estate. After sending a demand letter and notice of filing a petition the Nursing Home said the estate has been turn over to the Solano County Public Administrator who now refuse to transfer the said estate to my wife because she is not a relative of the decedent. Solano County Public Administrator refuses to recognize the validity of the Holographic Will. Does my wife still entitle to her inheritance? What can she do.


