California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/02/13, 7:02 pm

a woman and man only have children in common and the father or mother dies do the servival parent get to make decision for the others funeral? They not married not live together

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/02/13, 7:23 pm by Jennifer Rouse

If they are not married and the deceased did not name the survivor as their agent under an advance health care directive, then they do not have authority over the decedent's remains.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Meissner Joseph & Palley 1555 River Park Drive, Ste 108 Sacramento, CA 95815

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/02/13, 9:36 pm by Michele Cusack

That is correct.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Pollak & Cusack 1701 Novato Blvd. Suite 304 Novato, CA 94947

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 4:50 pm by Anthony Roach

I agree with Ms. Rouse.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search