California | Workers Comp
Legal Question
I am appealing State Funds decision, can I be fired now?
Was injured on a Mon.10-24-05 setting up for an event. Had to lift heavy items many times. Told boss later that she knew I had a bad back and I shouldn't have had to lift all by self.I asked for help,boss and co-workers and said no. Boss said I should have asked one of the guests for help. On Friday of the same week the Boss said she was demoting me to part time 20 hrs. a week and canceling my health ins. New job was to start the next Tuesday Nov. 1.I was very upset and stressed out. I have been there 2 1/2 years.Last day of work Fri.10-28-05.Taken to Hosp.on Sat.couldnt walk, back let go. Went to work comp clinic Mon.am. for 6 weeks. was called day before my scheduled appt. and said don't come, you have been denied because of an old injury re-injured. Have had no medical atten.or PT just x-rays. No MRI, how could they say how much more dammage was caused? I am in constant pain. Can't work! At the same time my boss cancelled my health ins, + got a letter today,fired because she did not get an off work excuse. Have also been going to Primary Dr.in the meantime and he put me off until 1-29-06. excuse for off work is in the mail to her and Disibility. Does she have the right to fire me? and post my job? Received 1 Disability ck.
Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys
The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.


