California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
2/03/10, 8:16 pm

Legal Question


An employee is off work for surgery (due to a workers comp claim) and that employee is coming into work after hours to work and also taking work home with her, Is that fraud?


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
2/08/10, 9:10 pm

Legal Answer


I need more information. Is the employee getting temporary disability payments? If she is, then it would appear to be fraud. But her employer must also be part of the fraud as she could not be doing work without their knowing. The fraud would be against the W.C. carrier. You should notify them, but be careful as you are implying the company is part of the scheme so if you are revealed as be the informer you could be in trouble.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/09/10, 11:16 pm

Legal Answer


It may be modified work and it is not necessary fraud.

ARMAN MOHEBAN

LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN 3055 WILSHIRE BLVD., SUITE 900 Los Angeles, CA 90010

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search