California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/03/09, 2:59 pm

Legal Question


can my employer cancel my medical insurance while I am on workman's comp?


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
11/12/09, 9:12 pm

Legal Answer


No. Employees injured on the job are not supposed to be discriminated against, although it happens often, sometimes just because of ignorance of the law and failure to undnestand when it applies. Technically, you are suppose to be treated as though you had continued working. The employer must continue its payment into the medical plan, as must you. You earn the same seniority, pension, wage increase, vacation, sick leave rights as if you were still at work.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search