California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
2/03/10, 12:29 am

Legal Question


Can your employer threaten to fire you if you don't agree with a write up and are not comfortable signing it?


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
2/08/10, 6:55 am

Legal Answer


Yes, as the signature on the performance evaluation merely admits that you have received it and it was discussed with you, not that you agree with anything said. Your boss does not want someone who is too stubborn to sign when they are refusing because they do not understand what their signature means. You probably are an "at will" employee so can be fired without any reason being given. [this is not a workers' compensation question].

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search