California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
10/29/09, 6:48 pm

Legal Question


I have been fined $24,000.00 by the ca. Workmans Comp company for not having written time cards for employees, but I did turn in hours to my accountant and paid all of my workmans comp fees on time. Is this legal or can I fight this decision.


SoCalLawSupport

Southern California's Best Attorney Help Site. Facing Bankruptcy? Personal Injury? Worker Compensation?

We can Help! Don't settle for second best - Get the best Today! We stand buy you! Call today for a FREE consultation, or complete an online case evaluation form on our website. 1-877-430-0001

Southern California's Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, Workers Compensation Attorneys


question bubble
11/04/09, 2:58 pm

Legal Answer


I am not that familiar with this aspect of WC, but i think there are numerous impriotant facts missing from your question. First of all, I do not understand what Workers' Comp. company you are talking about. If you mean the insurance carrier that you hired, they can not "fine" you as only a gaovernmental agency can levy "fines". They might have surcharged your account, in which case you have a contract dispute which would be resolved through dealing with them directly or filing a lawsuit. If it was a state agency, then there often is some type of internal appeal right before a lawsuit must be filed, but certain rules and time lines must be followed. The lack of time cards might also be a regulation under the Department of Industrial Relations which is the parent agency of the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board.

You cna either repost your question with more, accurate details or contact me with that information. I can speak to you for up to 10-15 minutes at no charge to see what the real issues are and what advice I can give you. My phone number is 510-441-2684 or you can e-mail me at georgeshers@yahoo.com.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1
Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search