California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/10/09, 8:00 am

Legal Question


I was hurt on the job at my 2nd part-time job and not at my full time job.

After being off work for about 6months from both jobs I had to quit my 2nd job due to my injury (I am unable to physically handle both jobs) when it was time to go back to full duty and I am afraid now of losing my full time job.

I need to have back surgery to remove a HNP disc, but I cant because I have used all my FMLA for my full time job. (my boss tells me I am not covered for anything because I didnt get hurt there)

So now, I have to live with excrucating pain until next May/June when I can have my FMLA renewed. What can I do? What rights do I have?


SoCalLawSupport

Southern California's Best Attorney Help Site. Facing Bankruptcy? Personal Injury? Worker Compensation?

We can Help! Don't settle for second best - Get the best Today! We stand buy you! Call today for a FREE consultation, or complete an online case evaluation form on our website. 1-877-430-0001

Southern California's Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, Workers Compensation Attorneys


question bubble
11/15/09, 9:34 am

Legal Answer


You have a life time award for medical treatment [there is a conference going on this week in San Francisco among back specialists to discuss how effective back surgery is]. Since you were not able to return to work at the second job, if you take time off for the surgery and resting period thereafter,you should get TTD from your second employer.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1
Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/15/09, 3:20 pm

Legal Answer


You have to go after the second employer (where you were injured) and receive temporary disability benefits, paid medical treatment , paid future medical treatment and a settlement for permanent disability benefits. If the insurance company denied your claim for temporary disability benefits, you may receive temporary benefits through EDD under state disability program. This will last you for one year. Feel free to call us at 213.388.7070 for a free consultation.

ARMAN MOHEBAN

LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
3055 WILSHIRE BLVD., SUITE 900
Los Angeles, CA 90010

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search