California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/07/09, 4:03 pm

Legal Question


Can a person dispute a pay rate upon return of disability and still cash the short payed payroll check?


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
11/12/09, 5:26 pm

Legal Answer


If you make it clear to the payor that you are not accepting the payment as being in full and give them a reasonable time to respond by objecting to your cashing the check or any part of it, you may cash it. Be sure to inform someone who has authority to act, get their name, hopefully have them sign a note saying you told them XXX on YYY. Do not just put payment in part on the check and cash it, as that is not notifying the maker of the check.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/12/09, 6:30 pm

Legal Answer


I agree with Mr. Shers. If you would like a free consultation, please feel free to give me a call at 1.877.505.INJURY.

David Lupoff

Law Offices of David B. Lupoff 15915 Ventura Blvd. Penthouse 4 Encino, CA 91436

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search