California  |  Workers Comp

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/09/12, 6:04 pm

My question is one of our manager hurt his shoulder helping one of his employees lift a part. He reported the injury and was sent to industrial health clinic. He was given over the counter medication and wore a sling for a week. (is this considered first aid) My supervisor then ask me to call the clinic and request an MRI and still keep it a first aid. The clinic said this was not normal protical and they needed an authorization from claims adjuster. No claim had been submitted since this was first aid and my supervisor wanted to pay the bill with her company credit card. Is this ethical and shouldn't this have been reported. I know usually you would need a follow up visit and a discharge visit to explain the finding of the MRI.

I understand an MRI is diagnostic and and not osha recordable but shouldn't have reported this to the workers comp carrier with a DWC form?


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/09/12, 8:14 pm by Ronald Mahurin

Yes, the workers compensation insurance carrier should have been notified by your company of the injury on a form prescribed by the Administrative director according to the labor codes. Apparently no claim has been submitted, which may cause problems later on because the employer, through the workers compensation carrier, is required to report work injuries to the department of industrial relations. The fact that your manager went to an industrial health clinic means it is too late to claim first aid.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Ronald Glenn Mahurin 932 Belmont, CA 94002

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search