California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
4/11/05, 6:20 pm

Legal Question


Should I settle?

I was injured at work 9-1-03 while sitting down I reached up and back with my left arm to take a binder off a shelf. It was heavier then I expected and after I grabbed it I felt something pop in my shoulder. For two weeks after I could not lift my arm. It was diagnosed as an impingement. Chiropractic care has been provided since that time. Opinion from an orthopedic surgeon says I may need surgery in the future to ''clean out'' the area in my shoulder as I now have limited movement.The insurance now wants to settle with me for $10,000 because I had a prior WC claim in 1998 for carpal tunnel on my right hand and it affected my shoulders and gave me headaches. They state because of the prior right hand and arm injury and my statements that it affected both shoulders and I settled for $35,000 (with an attorneys help) they will not offer anymore than this. They say if I refuse their offer then it will go to trial. My question is should I settle or should I get an attorney involved at this point. I was hoping for future medical but the amount their offering seems small and the pain was and is still so great.

Thanks for listening.


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search