California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
10/22/09, 4:40 pm

Legal Question


We have a small privately held technology company and are in the process of closing our first round of funding. To date there have been no paid employees of the company, just founders all of whom own >10% of the outstanding stock. Once we close this funding we will convert everyone to salaried employees. 3/5 of the founders are Officers of the Company and 2/5 are on the Board of Directors. After the funding all officers will still hold >10% of the outstanding equity.

My questions is whether Workers' Compensation coverage is required for these officers and/or directors. Our Broker suggested it is not required, but I'd like an independent opinion.


Nancy Wallace: for the best doctor, and disability payments

99% of Comp doctors are unhelpful. You need someone to pick the right doctor from the insurer's list. You need someone to get you your disability payments when that doctor says you can't work. The adjuster and case worker will refuse payments if your doctor doesn't request what you need with the right words. HIRE A CERTIFIED SPECIALIST WITH 20 YEARS EXPERIENCE...no fee until claim resolves.

MORE ANSWERS from Nancy Wallace, Attorney at Law


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search