California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
1/30/10, 4:12 pm

Legal Question


worked 20 years in grocery store with 18 years heavy lifting and all 20 with bending lifting stooping twisting. injured arm at work and had back surgery while out on woirk comp. which company is fighting the cumulative trauma attachment.my attorney wants me to do a c and r even tho im waiting on cervical spine fusion and shoulder surgery as well as the disputed lumbar spinal fusion. is my attorney only thinking of himself and taking easy way out? i dont care about the money i know my back injury is work related. time to look for new lawyer? i go before ssi for permanent disability hearing in few months and my company wants to settle


Experienced Workers' Compensation Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping injured workers all over California. We can help you recover for your injuries as a result of an accident at work. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
2/04/10, 4:54 pm

Legal Answer


I do not know enough of the details to venture an opinion as to his motives. If he is suggesting that you settle just the accepted arm injury and then try to get compensation for the back injuries, that may be a reasonable strategy. If all problems were rated together, the disability for the arm would be included with the back restrictions and in essence you would get nothing for the arm injury. Treating them separately you might be able to avoid some of the overlap.

You need to sit down with the attorney [best if can bring you spouse in or someother person who can hear what the attorney says without as much emotional involvment as you have] and discuss in details why he wants to do what and what the beneifts are for you, what other options exist, etc.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/04/10, 9:19 pm

Legal Answer


there is no cost to you if you decide to seek another attorney. And Mr. Shers has some good advice.

Ronald Mahurin

Law Offices of Ronald Glenn Mahurin 932 Belmont, CA 94002

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search