California  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
10/26/09, 5:53 pm

Legal Question


Can a worker be bared from receiving TTD in California when she/he is released to restricted duty and the employer will supply the work. Then when the employee is ready to come back to work his name and social security number turns out to be fake.


SoCalLawSupport

Southern California's Best Attorney Help Site. Facing Bankruptcy? Personal Injury? Worker Compensation?

We can Help! Don't settle for second best - Get the best Today! We stand buy you! Call today for a FREE consultation, or complete an online case evaluation form on our website. 1-877-430-0001

Southern California's Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, Workers Compensation Attorneys


question bubble
11/01/09, 12:31 am

Legal Answer


You do not state whether you are the employer or employee. If you are the employer, contact your WC insurance carrier as they are the ones who decide what benefits will voluntarily be provided on your behalf. If you are the employee, the situation is very complicated because Federal law may still require the employer to fire you for using a false social security number and if you are an illegal alien they may take steps to deport you.

Once you return to work, or are released to return to work that is available,you are not entitled to get TTD because that is only received while you are unable to return to employment. So yuo ar not being barred from TTD because of fake name and ID, but rather you simply are not entitled to the benefits no matter what.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1
Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/01/09, 12:28 pm

Legal Answer


If you are undocumented, you are still entitled to receive worker's compensation benefits and a settlement for permanenet disabilities. Insurance companys need to verify your identity in many different ways such as passport from the country where the injured worker came from. Once the doctor releases an injured worker, insurance can stop paying TTD but as I mentioned above the injured worker is still entitled to a settlement for permanent disability. Feel free to call me at 213.388.7070 for a free consultation.

ARMAN MOHEBAN

LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
3055 WILSHIRE BLVD., SUITE 900
Los Angeles, CA 90010

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search