Canada  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/17/11, 2:25 pm

I live in BC Canada. I am 65 yrs of age.

I have been separated from my wife for 11 plus years but never legally divorced. I have been living common law with someone for the entire 11 plus years..My wife will contest the divorce proceedings stating that if i file for divorce she will claim child support for our 19 yr old daughter who is in university (but only if i file for divorce does she want support). My question is, If I were to die without being legally divorced (I have stage 4 cancer), who is entitled to my CPP death benefits, survivor benefit and my joint assets (joint with my common law wife)? Is my common law partner or my wife who i have been separated from for over 11 years entitled to these benefits?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search