Colorado | Administrative Law
Legal Question
What happened to the plea of innocent?
A plea of 'not guilty' is NOT the same thing. Please explain what happened and when. Thank you.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Aspinwall |
Re: What happened to the plea of innocent? There is no plea of "innocent" in the law, and there never has been. The correct term for a plea of avoidance is "not guilty." The term "innocent" was coined by the newspapers because it is so easy to drop the "not" in "not guilty," and they wish to avoid being sued. "Not guilty" is a legal concept; "innocent" is a moral concept. One can be found not guilty and not be innocent. |
Top Attorneys in CO
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Carpenter and Cassens, P.C.
Colorado Springs, CO
Questions Answered: 84
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lundgren Law Offices, P.C.
Cheyenne, WY
Questions Answered: 55
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-24
The Cohen Law Group, A Professional Corporation
Boulder, CO
Questions Answered: 39
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-03
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Dennis L. blewitt
Boulder,, CO
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-07-25
Parkes Law Group, LLC
Englewood, CO
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-24
Teresa H. Abbott
Aurora, CO
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-15
The Hopp Law Firm, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


