Re: Large legal bills
The TRO/preliminary injunction process essentially requires the parties to prepare paperwork presenting the equivalent of a mini-trial of their case.
Thus, it is a very expensive process and a lot of legal fees get racked up on both sides within what is usually a 30- to 45-day period.
It is impossible for any lawyer to evaluate this sort of thing from a distance and in the abstract.
In general, I wouldn't bat an eye at someone saying that they had to pay $30K to $50K to go through something like this.
$150K seems on the high side, viewed purely in the abstract, but might easily be reasonable if your case is complex. Of course, if you are using a large law firm, the billing rates will be high as well. That can make a significant difference in the overall bill, though it would not in itself constitute overbilling (that is just how big firms work and they do offer considerable expertise).
The only way to get a good grip on the propriety of the billings is to sit down with an experienced attorney in this field and get a second opinion after reviewing the detailed facts of your situation.
Hope this helps give you a general picture anyway of what you might do.