Colorado | Business Law
Legal Question
Is it legal for a contractor to charge multiple times for the same hour? E.g., a snow removal contractor spends 15 minutes plowing, 15 minutes shoveling, 15 minutes salting walkways, then states they have a minimum one hour per service and charges 1 hour for plowing, 1 hour for shoveling, and one hour for salting. My expectation would be they would charge an hour at the highest bill rate and not an hour for each one.
Legal Answer
Are you asking on behalf of an HOA? The answer is really a matter of contract. If it states clearly that they can do this and this was approved then as a legal matter it is binding unless there are other facts that can counter the contract terms. There are no statutes which govern billing for this kind of work.
I recommend that you contact an attorney and have them review the contract. Depending on the terms and the facts there may be ways to try to get out of the agreement.
DISCLAIMER—This answer is for informational purposes only and discusses general legal principles, trends, and considerations and is not intended as specific legal advice regarding your question. This answer does not establish an attorney client relationship. For legal advice, you should retain legal counsel for advice regarding your specific circumstances.
Mosaic Legal Partners LLC 1942 Broadway, Suite 314 Boulder, CO 80302
► Other answers from this attorney

