Colorado  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/23/00, 1:31 am

Legal Question


Is there a statute of limitations on small claims?

I lent a friend of mine $4000 in 1998. In 1999, I filed in small claims court to sue her.

We then madea payment agreement and I cancelled the court date and informed the court

that we had settled out of court. The defendant is not making payments. I would like to file

a case and this time go through with it. Am I legally able to do this or because I cancelled

the first court hearing, she is no longer liable. I am also concerned about the statute of limitations

since it is now over 2 years since the oan was made.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search