Colorado  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 9:40 pm

Legal Question


I did something stupid. I received info from a server, but it said that I was just simply supposed to start making payments to a collector. It had no date to appear so I assumed that it wasn't valid and I didn't call the court. BIG MISTAKE. I was just served with papers tonight that said I have to appear in court and explain why I should not "be held in contempt of court and further why you have failed to file your answer to the Plaintiff's interrogatories with this court on or before ten days after your receipt of said interrogatories" I am a single mom of 4 kids and the appear date is before Christmas. Am I going to jail? (more than 10years ago I had 2 failure to appears for traffic court and paid my fines when they caught up with me, but I am worried that now I will serve jail time. I made a stupid ignorant mistake, to top it off I work for a school district and cannot afford to lose my job if I got jail. Please help, how serious is this. Of course I am going one way or the other on the court date, but with no prior history (except for the 10 years ago things) will I need to plan for my kids to be with someone while I serve jail time? What should I tell the judge?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search