Colorado | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
We have been summoned to appear in county court next week by the attorney of a collection agency for a hospital over a medical bill we cannot pay. This will be in a jurisdiction other than the county in which we live. We have been sent papers and told we must file an answer or face a possible judgment against us. We might be able to come up with a portion of the amount from my husband's retirement account but we cannot pay all the additional fees that have been tacked on like court fees, attorney fees, accrued interest, etc. How should we defend ourselves when we appear in court (i.e.: what to say, what not to say, etc.)? We don't want to be bullied by the attorney. Thank you.


