Colorado  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
7/26/10, 2:28 pm

Legal Question


my dad is in prison right now serving 5 to life, and he is willing to do his full 5 years, but the only problem is no one is helping him with his case he has been told many different things. i understand what he did was wrong and is a crime but he did nothing wrong that deserves a life time sentence and i need advise and help so i can be helpful and let him know, please help me out and explain if he will be in prison for life?


question bubble
7/26/10, 7:19 pm

Legal Answer


You have not stated his prior criminal history or the crime he was convicted and whether it was a crime of violence or a crime which requires a mandatory sentence.

Once we know the answers to these basic questions we can see what help he may need.

V. Iyer

Iyer Law Office, L.L.C. 3333 S Bannock St, Suite 840 Englewood, CO 80110

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/28/10, 9:04 am

Legal Answer


It is up to him. On a 5-life sentence, he will be parole eligible soon, and may get out after a few years, but will be on parole for most of the rest of his life. If he violates parole (which is easy to do), he will be regressed to DOC for several more years. Then parole eligibility, parole, violation and re-entry can repeat themselves. So yes, he could be in prison for many more years (10, 20, 30), but it will be up to him. I've seen clients get out and stay out, but I have seen many go through re-entry into DOC.

Daniel Fenaughty

FENAUGHTY & ASSOCIATES, PC 2 N. Cascade, suite 1100 Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search