Colorado | Family Law
Legal Question
If you continue to see your soon to be ex-spouse, can it void your divorce?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rebecca Pescador |
Not in Colorado, at least. A divorce, once accomplished, cannot be voided, and even if it could, merely seeing/dating your soon to be ex would not be sufficient. That said, it does not take much to become common-law married in Colorado either, so you can end up re-married under common-law if you get back together and start telling the world you are married again.
It sounds like you may not be completely divorced yet - in other words, no Decree has been issued. If you have not had your permanent orders hearing and have not received a Decree, you can mutually decide to back out of the divorce (and file a written request to the Court to dismiss the divorce, which you will both need to sign) or to ask the Court to issue a Decree of Legal Separation rather than a Decree of Dissolution (divorce). If you are not sure whether you want to get back together or not, you can also ask the Court to continue (move to a later date) your permanent orders hearing and give yourselves time to decide whether you want to reconcile or not. |
Top Attorneys in CO
Law Office of Rebecca A. Pescador
Northglenn, CO
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-28
The Harris Law Firm, P.C.
Denver, CO
Questions Answered: 142
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-10-26
Denver Center for Divorce Solutions
Denver, CO
Questions Answered: 122
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-04-13
Attorney Gary C. Johnson
Littleton, CO
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-06
Joseph T. Bernstein
Lakewood, CO
Questions Answered: 75
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-05
Ward Law & Associates, LLC
Aurora, CO
Questions Answered: 21
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-26
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Flatiron Legal Advisors, LLC
Boulder, CO
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Theodore P. Watson and Associates, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-26
Marc J. Kaplan, Attorney at Law, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-15
Search Questions and Answers


