Colorado | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Fmla
I have been told by our HR Dept. that one of my staff is uneligible for the FMLA because her son is 39. He was in a very serious car accident and is unmarried, with no family where he lives. His injuries are so serious that he may have permanent disability. I was told that her son must be mentally or physically disabled to be able to use this leave. He is definitely disabled now with his current injuries and remains in the ICU. Once he gets out of the hospital, he may need assistance due to his serious injuries. Could the FMLA come into play in this situation, and if yes, what would be the requirements?
Thank you so much for your assistance with this.
Legal Answer
Re: Fmla
Under the FMLA parents can be eligible for FMLA leave to care for the serious health condition of their adult children. You may want to check out the DOL website, www.dol.gov and click on the link for FMLA. It has an excellent resource located there called e-laws which will guide you through the DOL's analysis of this issue.
Law Offices of James R. Becker, Jr. 5100 Poplar Ave. Ste 2606 Memphis, TN 38137
► Other answers from this attorney

