Colorado  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 7:15 pm

Legal Question


I am U.S. citizen born abroad. I lost my wallet. It contained my driver's license and social security card. I went to the DMV to get a new license. I brought my birth certificate. They said it does not prove I am U.S. citizen. I was born in Canada in 1972. My birth certificate clearly shows that both parents are U.S. citizens, and both were born in U.S. I never had this problem before -when I lost my license -back before 9/11. I don't see how I cannot be a U.S. citizen; especially since I was issued a social security card. How can I prove I am a U.S. citizen?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search