Colorado | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Greencard by marriage to a U.S. Citizen
I am a U.S. and in July it will be a year I have been married to my husband. My husband entered the U.S. illegally about 10 years ago. My sister-in-law did file a petition for him but it was back in August of 2001(too late for the 245(i) deadline. I want him to be able to stay in th U.S. while undergoing the process of a petition. I spoke with a lawyer and he explained that my husband only has the option of ''Cancellation of Removal.'' I am just scared they may deport him if I proceed with this process. What rights does my husband have if any being in the U.S. and being married to me? What is the best thing to do so he can obtain a greencard? Is there any way he can go with me to Mexico and return with me legally? Please help me! Thank you for your time.


