Colorado | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
my family has had a 30% loss of income and can't afford the rent on our lease and the owner will not work with us, can we get out of the lease ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Murillo |
Sorry for your problems. You should first review the lease to see what the terms for assignment, sublet and termination are. Then contact the landlord as soon as possible and advise them about your situation. You may want to offer to look for a new tenant and otherwise assist in getting someone for the place and see if you can come to an early termination agreement. If this is possible, I would recommend that you get the agreement in writing.
If you cannot come to a mutual agreement, then you may have no choice but leave for a more affordable rental. The landlord is obligated to mitigate their damages, which means that they must try to get a new tenant. Good luck.
DISCLAIMER—This answer is for informational purposes only and discusses general legal principles, trends, and considerations and is not intended as specific legal advice regarding your question. This answer does not establish an attorney client relationship. For legal advice, you should retain legal counsel regarding your specific circumstances.
|
Top Attorneys in CO
Mosaic Legal Partners LLC
Boulder, CO
Questions Answered: 792
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Joseph T. Bernstein
Lakewood, CO
Questions Answered: 75
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-05
Lundgren Law Offices, P.C.
Cheyenne, WY
Questions Answered: 55
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-24
Theodore P. Watson and Associates, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-26
Parkes Law Group, LLC
Englewood, CO
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-24
Bills Law, LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Humphrey & Associates
London,
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Law Office of William R. Evans
Denver, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Hopp Law Firm, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


