Colorado | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
My lease expired at my former apartment complex with a written 30 day notice. About 2 weeks later I received a notice as to why I did not get my security deposit back stating the carpets were bad. This amount was $250.
Later, I received a notice from my employer stating they would be garnishing my wages due to a missed court date and a fine. After some investigation, I found out a lawyer from a debt collector supposedly served me paperwork regarding a $2000 fine to replace the carpets at the apartment complex. I was never served any paperwork! The debt collector and their lawyer basically told me "too bad" and I must pay the fines.
The carpets were in excellent condition when I left and did not need to be replaced (they were new when I moved in). I do not have any pictures of the carpet's conditions when I left the complex, but I am sure the complex or collector do not either. Is there anything I can do?


