Colorado  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
6/01/09, 11:11 pm

Legal Question


Benefits for Spouse of disabled vets

My husband is a Viet Nam vet. He was awarded 150% service connected disability status. We have been married since 1978. He is now a very practicing alcoholic who was recently arrested and convicted for drunk driving. He also has other substance abuse issues and I am afraid to stay married to him (I am now 63 years old and he is 62). He has been in and out of rehab but to no avail. If I file for divorce, do I lose my spousal status and my CHAMPVA insurance and any other benefits I may be eligilble for?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search