Colorado  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/08/09, 4:53 am

Legal Question


I recently received an inheritance. It is set up in 3 accounts: an inherited IRA, a GST exempt and a GST Nonexempt account. My brother, myself and my CPA are listed as CoTrustees. My CPA is also listed as Successor Trustee. My CPA is charging fees to the 2 GST accounts, but not to the IRA account. He is charging one account $250.00 quarterly and the other account $650.00 quarterly.

Is he supposed to be charging these accounts while I’m still an active Trustee? Should I be getting paid fees too? Are these fee amounts reasonable?


question bubble
11/13/09, 3:48 pm

Legal Answer


There would be no trustee for your inherited IRA. A trustee is entitled to a reasonable fee. What is reasonable depends on several factors, including: the actual work performed and the qualifications of the trustee and the difficulty of the work.

If you have questions about your rights as a beneficiary, then you should consult your own attorney.

Bernard Greenberg

KOKISH & GOLDMANIS, P.C. 380 Perry Street, Suite 220 Castle Rock, CO 80104

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search