Connecticut  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/29/09, 6:05 pm

Legal Question


Can a childcare provider charge me for services not rendered?

My wife recently lost her job so we decided she would stay home and we pulled our 2 kids out of daycare. The daycare center just charged me for an entire month's worth of service while we were not even taking the kids there. The owner said they have a 30 day notice of withdrawal policy and gave me a copy of their enrollment form and handbook saying so.

My original copy of the enrollment form (an older one) that we signed does not mention any notice but it does say that we agree to the policies in the handbook which I unfortunately don't have a copy of.

Can this contract be binding if it refers to some other document and is it really legal for them to charge for an entire month of not watching my kids (no small sum)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search