Connecticut  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 12:16 pm

Legal Question


I signed a contract for some energy installation of tin foil in the attic and a unit that goes onto the main breaker box thats suppose to save you energy and thereby money. Briefly I was told at the time of the conract that I could recieve credit of $1800.00 by using their customer loyalty program where I would submit receipts for food, prescriptions, gas each month and for each $100.00 per month per catagory I would receive a $25.00 visa gift card. I was never told it had to be only one supplier per catagory until 3 weeks later when I received the Customer Loyalty brochere that when I went online to register I was given some 31 rules and regulations to follow. Not what I was initialy told. Secondly they have never finished the job I am still waiting for them to paint this special paint on the ceilings that reflects heat etc. When I found out about about the Customer loyal program I imediatly call my sales rep and told them that the program wasn't what he told me and that I wanted no part of it and asked for the $1800.00 to be credited up front instead, or to come and remove what they had installed to date.

No response from sales rep and he will not return my calls. I then proceeded to call customer support at Utility management Association who after leaving voice mail I again got no response. I also wrote Wells Fargo Bank that the job was not finished and do not bill me. Evidently the company sold the note to Wells Fargo.

In that I got no response from UMA I proceeded to write the President of the company UMA and explained the problems to him and told him that I would pay the amount of the contract less the $1800.00 or they could come and remove what was installed to date. Again no answer from the president of UMA either.

I contend that they broke the agreement by 1) not finishing the job, 2) misleading me on how the Customer Loyalty program worked.

I have since faxed Wells Fargo a cover letter again covering the issues, I included a copy of the letter I sent to the president of UMA, and a copy of the work order.

Where do I stand and what are my options at this point. I am so teed off at this point I just want them to remove what they have installed and cancel the contract.

t


question bubble
11/19/09, 5:12 pm

Legal Answer


Your question is fairly involved and requires a lot more than a simple answer here. You should consult with an attorney about your potential options.

Linda Subbloie

Linda A. Subbloie, Esq. P.O. Box 9024 New Haven, CT 06532

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search