Connecticut  |  Discrimination Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/15/97, 12:16 am

Gender bias in the enforcement of company dress code

The company I work for has a dress code- white collared shirt with tie for men and bow tie for women. My manager enforces only on men. I have been sent home from work 3 times because I wasn't wearing a white shirt. Problem-the women I work with are never even talked to when they do not comply. Also, many instances of men not wearing white shirt or tie not being sent home, scolded,etc. Over past month, have documented over 50 instances of this behavior by my manager. Do I have any legal course under Title VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964? Any other options?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search