Connecticut | Family Law
Legal Question
We are considering divorce but I am a Canadian citizen and he is an American. We have 2 children. Upon divorce I will want to live in Canada with my family. What can I expect concerning taking my children across the border, custody etc. ?
Legal Answer
Hopefully, you can work out a parenting schedule that allows as much time as possible with your children. I don't know their ages, how long they have lived in CT and other relevant information, so I can not comment.
Linda A. Subbloie, Esq. P.O. Box 9024 New Haven, CT 06532
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
If you and your spouse can reach an agreement regarding with whom your children will live, where they will live, and what the visitation arrangements will be, a family court in Connecticut most likely will adopt your agreement as a court order.
If you and your spouse cannot agree, then things will get quite a bit more complicated. Among the issues to be considered may be where to file the divorce action. See this link for the factors that courts in Connecticut will look at when making decisions about children relocating out-of-state, or in your case, out of the country, with a cutodial parent:
http://www.serranolawyers.com/Fam Info Post Judgment.htm
(copy and paste it to your browser).
You are well advised to speak to an attorney before a case is filed. Judging from your zip code, our office is local to you, and we would be happy to speak to you conerning your situation.
Serrano & Serrano, LLC - Connecticut Accident, Social Security & Divorce Lawyers 690 Flatbush Avenue West Hartford, CT 06110-1308
► Other answers from this attorney

