Connecticut  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 1:05 pm

Legal Question


I have been married for almost 30 years. Our home is paid off. I made every single

mortgage payment on the house since I moved in in Jan, 1981. That amounts to

25 years of a 30 year mortgage. I also paid off 3 2nd mortgages, the proceeds of which all went to my wife. My wife steadfastly refused to add my name to the deed

on the house. Should we get divorced will I be able to recover my fair share

of my contributions to these mortgages. I have no hardcopy documentation that

I made all these payments but a check of ss earnings records would clearly show

who brought in the lion's share of income to the household and in turn who paid the

majority of the bills


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search