Connecticut | Family Law
Legal Question
Any suggestions? Where do we start?
Re: Primary/physical custody
Children (ages 8&6) have been recently returned to a mother who cannot get them to school on time. They are tardy (1-1.5 hrs late) 50+% of the days she has them. They are missing the better part of spec ed instruction given due to LD issues. This was recently documented in kid's IEP's minutes. Mom has progressive decreasing mobility due to parkinsons and lost custody temporarially last year when she was in a horrific accident. They are missing out on team sports, cubscouts, and denied access to family on the paternal side. School has documented absenses and tardiness and huge setbacks in learning and emotional distresses. Mom has been coached that school is important but declines to acknowledge that any of this tardiness/absences are her fault....it's the kids who can't get ready in time she states. There is a guardian ad lidum who has not gotten involved - he just keeps pushing the issues back to parental counseling which is currently not proceeding. There has been no progress through this avenue. Paying for attorneys and guardian ad lidum and counseling is bankrupting the dad. He is local and has great family support for raising the children and would encourage maternal contact and reg visits.


