Connecticut | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
My rich neighbor attempted to purchase my land for a low price. After declining to sell, he sued me for having a camper on my land and said it was ruining his enjoyment of his property and tried to have the judge restrict me from building on my property. The camper was there years before the neighbor purchased his home. His lawyers wrote me a letter saying that they would drop the suit if I agreed to never build, utilize, or cut trees on my property. I represented myself for a almost a year and had to hire a lawyer in the last few months before trial. The judge met with the lawyer the day of trial and I agreed to face garage doors away from their house if I ever build. (judgement by stipulation). The lawyer fees were about 8k. Can I now countersue for my legal fees? I will be representing myself. I feel he misused the legal system in an attempt to coerce me out of my land rights.


