Connecticut | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I live in an apartment in Connecticut with my fiance and our roommate. All three of us signed a year lease in June 2009. The agreement was My fiance and I would put up half and he would put up half of rent, we would split electricity (it is in my fiance and our roommate's name), and cable would be split as well. A few months back (I believe September) we ran into some trouble and asked our roommate to foot the whole month's rent and the agreement was we'd pay for the last month's rent (figuring we'd be completely stable by May and have no problem doing this).
It is now November 9 and our roommate tells us he will be out by November 11. He said he has already put down a security deposit on another place.
I'm wondering what our rights are with us all being on the lease and what we could do to not have our roommates actions in the future haunt us.


