Connecticut  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 10:20 pm

Legal Question


My previous landlord is holding my security deposit because he said I scratched the doors and door frames in the apartment. Can he do this? I thought there was a normal wear and tear statue that included doors and door frames. But I didn't scratch the doors to begin with. I was only there for 10 months.


question bubble
11/16/09, 12:33 pm

Legal Answer


There are regulations governing the holding of security deposits. The landlord must give you a written statement appraising all damages within 30 days. Also I believe that the deposit is to be held in an interest bearing account. Please feel free to contact us for more information.

Max Rosenberg

Rosenberg & Press L.L.C. 3333 Main Street, Suite 203 Stratford, CT 06614

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search