Connecticut | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Back in September I purchased a new car. In order to take it off of the lot it had to be registered and insured. When I went to insure the car I was informed that they couldn't do it because my license was suspended. I had no idea that this had happened, or more importantly WHY this happened so now I am currently going through the DMV to figure it out.. but that's a whole new story.. Either way, my boyfriend offered to put the car in his name so we can take the car. Now, I paid outright cash for the car and I make all of the insurance payments. My only problem is, the DMV is taking FOREVER to help me with my license and him and I are going through a rough spot in our relationship. He can be very vindictive and often times threatens to take the car from me. I am just wondering if I have any rights to the car as he never paid a cent on it and I would be out $5,000.00 if he took it from me?
Legal Answer
You would have to file suit against him to reclaim the car or the money. You could file in small claims court.
Linda A. Subbloie, Esq. P.O. Box 9024 New Haven, CT 06532
► Other answers from this attorney

