Connecticut  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/15/09, 9:26 pm

Legal Question


Hello. I have a difficult situation unfolding. My father passed away about a week ago. He was in the process of divorcing his wife. They have been involved in legal battles for the past year and a half. She left him and abandoned the residence. She filed for divorce. Now that he has passed, she is trying to get her hands on anything and everything he has left (which is not much, really). She claims "I'm still his wife". She has even gone so far as to break into the residence she no longer lives and has rummaged through his things.

I don't know what to do. I know she has plans on trying to become the executor of his estate. I think I should fight this and have a good chance of winning since his last letter instructed I am to be in charge of everything.

Can I press charges for her going into his residence? What are my next steps here?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search