Connecticut  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/16/09, 9:35 pm

Legal Question


My father passed away 11/19/07. He gave my sister the keys to his car and said he wanted her to have it, but he couldnt find the title. At the time of his death he was separated from his wife, she is in another state and we have had no contact with her.. We have nothing in writing saying he gave us the car, but now we need to sell it or junk it. Since we dont have the title, im wondering if there is still a way that we can legally sell it without going through probate court or hiring a lawyer. the car is not worth enough money to justify paying court/lawyer fees.

we need a title even if we want to junk it. this was the only thing he owned, therefore there wasnt a probate process when he passed.please help.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search