Delaware  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/28/03, 8:18 am

Legal Question


Settlement offer illegal or unethical?

Is it illegal or unethical for an attorney to offer to pay a settlement to his own client on his adversary's behalf? The case is a bankruptcy preference action; I am the pro se defendant. Plaintiff's counsel has made several documented errors in this proceeding, and they recently offered to ''fund a $2,000 settlement on your behalf'' in return for the withdrawal of my motions for summary judgment and sanctions.

This struck me as odd - but is it illegal or unethical? Should I report this to the judge (and how would I go about that without making an ex parte communication)?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search