District of Columbia  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/17/09, 7:55 pm

Legal Question


Is it the responsibility of the tenant to pay the water bill when he/she does not rent the home and there is no legal lease agreement?


question bubble
10/22/09, 8:05 pm

Legal Answer


There could be some responsibity if the tenant is using the water and that use is excessive. However, with no lease the water bill should be in the name of the owner who thus bears the responsibity for paying it.

Travis Murrell

Travis A Murrell, Attorney at Law 3811 W Street, SE, Suite A Washington, DC 20020

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search